Faith Communities Against Family Violence A National Statement

Family violence in our communities is one of the most significant moral, spiritual and social challenges that we currently face as a country. As communities of faith in Aotearoa New Zealand, we believe it is our responsibility to take a stand and address this challenge.

Family violence is completely unacceptable and is never justified. Often the most vulnerable victims of violence are children, and it is here that we are taking a stand. Our children deserve the best we can offer them.

Accordingly, we have come together, as communities of faith, to declare the following:

- We recognise that children are our future and as such are a significant and precious gift to society today.
- We understand that our beliefs, values and traditions will live on through our children
- We accept that the wellbeing of children is our responsibility.
- We acknowledge that children deserve our compassion, kindness, love and care.
- We believe we can make a difference in the lives of children and families.

In light of these declarations we commit our communities to:

- Accept our responsibility to stand up for our children, women and families. *Refuse to tolerate violence within our families or communities or turn a blind eye to it.*
- Strive to provide places of safety and nurture for the children and families of our community.
- Encourage our communities to report family violence, hold perpetrators accountable and provide support for victims.
- Ensure that our staff are trained to respond safely to family violence and are well supported with appropriate policies and resources.
- Partner with community organisations to ensure that families experiencing violence are referred appropriately and we will advocate with government for policies and resources to address family violence.

10 December 2012

Signatories

<u></u>	
Archbishop John Dew	The New Zealand Catholic Bishops Conference
Bhante Jinalankra	Dhamma Gavesi Meditation Centre
Beth Lew, National Secretary	National Spiritual Assembly of the Bahá'ís of New Zealand
Bishop Barry Jones	Catholic Bishop of Christchurch
Bishop Brian Tamaki	Destiny Church
Bishop Charles Drennan	Catholic Bishop of Palmerston North
Bishop Colin Campbell	Catholic Bishop of Dunedin
Bishop Denis Browne	Catholic Bishop of Hamilton
Bishop Patrick Dunn	Catholic Bishop of Auckland
Commissioner Don Bell, Territorial Commander	The Salvation Army
Dr. Anwar Ghani, President	Federation of Islamic Associations of New Zealand
Elizabeth Duke & Elizabeth Thompson	The Religious Society of Friends
Geoffrey Fyers	Family Federation for World Peace and Unification
Haihn Dinh Njuyen, Chairman	Vietnam/Buddhist Then Thai Monastery
Jimi Wallace, General Director	Soka Gakki International of New Zealand
Pastor Don McDonell	Inspire Church Albany
Pastor Edward Tupai	North New Zealand Conference of the Seventh-day Adventist Church
Pastor Iliafi Esera, General Superintendent	Assembly of God
Pastor Jerry Matthews, President	New Zealand Pacific Union Conference of the Seventh-day Adventist Church
Pastor John Steele, National Leader	New Life Churches International
Pastor Lloyd J Rankin, National Director	Vineyard Churches Aotearoa New Zealand
Pastor Mark Whitfield, President	Lutheran Church of New Zealand
Pastor Mike Griffiths, National Leader	Elim Church of New Zealand
Prithipal Singh	Sikh
Rabbi Mendy Goldstein	Jewish (non-denominational)
Rabbi Samuel Altschul	Auckland Hebrew Congregation
Rabbi Yitzchak Mizrahi	Wellington Hebrew Congregation
Reverend John Roberts, President	Methodist Church of New Zealand
Olive Tanielu, Vice-President	Methodist Church of New Zealand
Reverend Lucky Slade (Faifeau Toeaina)	Ekalesia Faapotopotoga Kerisiano Samoa The Congregational Church of Samoa
Reverend Ray Coster Moderator at the General Assembly	Presbyterian Church of Aotearoa New Zealand
Reverend Rex Nathan JP	Methodist Church of New Zealand
Reverend Dr Richard Waugh QSM, National Superintendent	Wesleyan Methodist Church of New Zealand
Reverend Te Ahorangi Wayne Manaaki Rihari Te Kaawa	Te Aka Puho – Ohope Marae
Robert Newson, Chairman	Te Runanga o te Hahi Katorika ki Aotearoa
Rukman Wagachchi	New Zealand Sri Lanka Buddhist Trust

Sensei Amala Wrightson, Chairperson The Most Reverend D J Moxon The Most Reverend W B Turei Venerable Abbess Manshin

New Zealand Buddhist Council

Anglican Church in Aotearoa New Zealand and Polynesia Maori Anglician Church in Aotearoa New Zealand Fo Guang Shan New Zealand

The Hindu Council of New Zealand (Hindu Dharma) endorses this initiative. The Hindu Council have chosen to write their own statement, which includes the declarations made in the National Statement, but also contain reference to Hindu philosophy and scriptures. The two statements sit alongside one another.